Ex-Babus or Netas Who Have An Edge in Officer

New Delhi: Situated in Kapurthala district, the Phagwara Vidhan Sabha seat of Punjab falls under the Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha constituency. Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal of the Indian National Congress is the sitting MLA of the constituency which is reserved for scheduled castes (SCs). As per the Election Commission data, the Phagwara assembly constituency has 1,51,668 registered voters, including 79,782 males and 71,886 females.Also Read – Saharanpur: BJP, Congress or SP — Who Will Win Fierce Triangular Battle? Key Facts

Lithmus Test For BJP, Congress 

Both Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress have equal chances to emerge victorious from Phagwara assembly seat. Since 1977 elections, Congress has registered victory from the Phagwara seat five times, while the Bharatiya Janata Pary has won the seat four times.  Political observers also asserted that it would be difficult to predict the winner as it was a close contest between Congress and BJP. For two consecutive terms 2012, and 2017, Union Minister Som Parkash won the Vidhan Sabha election from the constituency. However, in 2019, after winning the Lok Sabha election from Hoshiarpur seat he had to vacate the seat. Following this, by-polls were necessitated the results of which came in favour of Congress’ Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal.  Dhaliwal had won the seat by defeating Rajesh Bagha of Bharatiya Janata Party with a margin of 26116 votes. Also Read – Will Varanasi South Remain The BJP’s Impregnable Fortress?

The high-profile Phagwara Constituency (Reserve) is famous for being the favorite of bureaucrats (mostly IAS officers) for their entry into politics. Union Minister Som Parkash was a retired IAS (Retd.) who had served as the Deputy Commissioner of Faridkot, Hoshiarpur, and Jalandhar. Parkash was elected twice as an MLA in this important constituency on a BJP ticket before vacating in 2019. Also Read – Who Will Win The Battle of Chauri Chaura?

After Parkash, the seat was won by Congress candidate Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal, also a former IAS. Before joining politics in the year 2019, Dhaliwal also served as the Deputy Commissioner at different places, apart from working as the SDM of Phagwara. Now SSM has filed Khushi Ram with the hope of joining the league.

The BJP, on the other hand, fielded its former MP from Hoshiarpur and Dalit leader Vijay Sampla from the Phagwara assembly constituency. To contest in the polls, Sampla vacated the post of chairperson of the National Commission for Scheduled Castes after his candidature came under a cloud. He holds a strong political influence in the region and is being backed by party colleague and former MLA from the seat Som Parkash.

Key Candidates in Fray This Year

While Congress has entrusted the sitting MLA Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal, a retired IAS officer from the seat, the Aam Aadmi Party has nominated the grand old party’s turncoat Joginder Singh Maan. The Bharatiya Janata Party, on the other hand, has fielded former union minister and ex-chairman of the national commission of scheduled caste Vijay Sampla to reclaim the seat. Besides, Sanyukt Samaj Morcha’s Khushi Ram and Bahujan Samaj Party’s Punjab Chief Jasvir Singh Garhi are also in the fray from the Vidhan Sabha seat. Interestingly, Khushi Ram had previously held the post of Deputy Commissioner in several cities of Punjab, including Hoshiarpur, Tarn Taran, and Amritsar.

2017 Assembly Election Results 

Candidate’s Name Party Level Votes Vote Rate % Margin
Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal INC Winner 49,215 47.62% 26,116
Rajesh Bagha BJP Runner Up 23,099 22.35%
Bhagwan Dass BSP 3rd 15,990 15.47%
Jarnail Nangal Lok Insaaf Party 4th 9,088 8.79%
Santosh Kumar Gogi AAAP 5th 2,910 2.82%
Nota None of the Above 6th 966 0.93%
Neetu IND 7th 706 0.68%
Charanjit Kumar Peoples Party of India (Democratic) 8th 545 0.53%
Paramjot Kaur Gill Shiromani Akali Dal (Amritsar)(Simranjit Singh Man 9th 485 0.47%
Sonu Kumar Vishal Party of India 10th 340 0.33%

Who Rules Amritsar West Over The Years

Candidate’s Name Party Level Votes Vote Rate % Margin
Balwinder Singh Dhaliwal INC Winner 49,215 47.62% 26,116
Rajesh Bagha BJP Runner Up 23,099 22.35%
Som Parkash BJP Winner 45,479 35.02% 2,009
Joginder Singh Mann INC Runner Up 43,470 33.48%
Som Parkash BJP Winner 46,223 41% 14,579
Balbir Kumar Sodhi INC Runner Up 31,644 28%
Swarna Ram BJP Winner 47,906 47% 9,604
Joginder Singh Mann INC Runner Up 38,302 37%
Joginder Singh INC Winner 31,601 36% 1,186
Swarna Ram BJP Runner Up 30,415 35%
Swarna Ram BJP Winner 50,176 52% 26,623
Joginder Singh Mann INC Runner Up 23,553 24%
Joginder Singh Mann INC Winner 14,363 35% 720
Swarna Ram BJP Runner Up 13,643 33%
Joginder Singh INC Winner 33,287 46% 11,863
Sadhu Ram JNP Runner Up 21,424 30%
Piara Ram Dhanowalia INC(I) Winner 27,845 48% 1,589
Sadhu Ram JNP(JP) Runner Up 26,256 45%
Sadhu Ram JNP Winner 25,042 50% 4,710
Piara Ram Dhanowalia INC Runner Up 20,332 40%

Full schedule for Punjab Assembly Polls

  • Issue of notification: January 21
  • Last date of notification: January 28
  • Scrutiny of nomination: January 29
  • Last date of withdrawal of candidature: January 31
  • Date of poll:  February 20
  • Counting of votes: March 10

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.